• Bo Bergman

    Bo Bergman

    New Honorary Member 1990.

    Is Professor Emeritus and former Chairman of the Department of Prosthetic Dentistry at Umeå University, Faculty of Odontology, where he also served as Dean for 12 years. He has published more than 100 papers and has coauthored/edited two textbooks in prosthodontics. Professor Bergman has received a number of national and international awards/honorary positions. He is the present Chairman of subcommittee 8, ISO/TC 106, ”Dental Implants”.

  • Per-Ingvar Brånemark

    New Honorary Member 1999.

    MD heads the Brånemark Osseointegration Center in Göteborg, Sweden. His research in microcirculation in the 1950’s led to his discovery of osseointegration. Based on the principle, he developed a surgical procedure, components and instruments and the first dental patient was treated in 1965.In 1999, 750 000 patients had been treated with implants ad modum Brånemark. Since his discovery, Professor Brånemark has continued with his clinical work in addition to expanding the osseointegration principles into orthopedics, hand surgery, maxillofacial surgery and ear-nose-throat applications. Professor Brånemark is the author of 290 scientific publications and is honorary member of 15 scientific societies. He is first honorary fellow of the Academy of Osseointegration and honorary president of the Brazilian Academy of Osseointegration. In addition, he is honorary citizen of Philadelphia, USA and honorary doctorate in odontology, science, medicine and technology at 15 universities around the world. He deceased 2014.


  • Gunnar E. Carlsson

    Gunnar E. Carlsson

    New Honorary Member 1996.

    Is Professor Emeritus and former Chairman of the Department of Prosthetic Dentistry at Göteborg University Faculty of Odontology, where he also served as Dean for two terms. He has published more than 250 papers and coauthored/edited four major textbooks in occlusion, temporomandibular disorders, and prosthodontics, and has served on the editorial boards of several journals. He is now editor of The International Journal of Prosthodontics. Dr Carlsson har received numerous national and international awards, as well as an honorary doctorate from the University of Oslo.

  • Torvald Rundcrantz

    New Honorary Member 1999.

    Torvald was senior consultant and head at the specialistclinic for prosthodontics in Halmstad 1981-1990 and in Helsingborg 1991-96. He was the initiater and started the first Tylösandsconvention 1984. He became the first chairman for the committee for the conventions and was its primus motor until 2004. He deceased 2017.


  • Torgil Rundcrantz

    New Honorary Member 2004.

    Torgil was senior consultant and head at the specialistclinic for prosthodontics in Uppsala 1981-82 and in Kristianstad 1982-2000. After 2000 he has been working as specialist in private clinic. He was the first president of Swedish Society for Prostodontics and performed the dusties until 1998, Thereafter he was member of the committee for Tylösandsconvention till 2003.


  • Barbro Swartz

    New Honorary Member 2009

    Barbro graduated in 1974 from the Dental College in Gothenburg and in 1979 she joined the department of Prosthetics of the Dental College in Gothenburg as an assistant professor .

    In 1982 she got a Board Certificate in prosthodontics and was appointed as specialist in prosthodontics in the Department of prosthodontics, postgraduate Dental Education Center in Örebro. She has since 1990 been a senior advisor in the education program in prosthodontics and has been the head of the department from 1995 to 2018.

    Since 1982 she has had the main responsibility in the rehabilitation of patients with oral and maxillofacial defects including reconstruction with implant and tissue supported craniofacial prostheses. These treatments have been performed in collaboration with colleges in the Center of Head, Neck and Oncology, the Örebro University Hospital and anaplastologist, honorary doctor Kerstin Bergström, Gothenburg. She has since 2004 been one of the lecturers in and the coordinator of a Scandinavian Diploma course in Maxillofacial Prosthodontics being part of the education program to get a Board Certificate in prosthodontics. During the years she has given a variety of prosthetic courses in different fields.

    In 2014 she was as the first dentist warded a price in Ethics from the Swedish Dental Society.


  • Lars-Åke Johansson

    New Honorary Member 2022

    Lars-Åke Johansson graduated at the Faculty of Odontology in Gothenburg in 1975 and has been a specialist in periodontology since 1981 and in oral prosthodontics since 1995. He worked as a consultant at the Specialist Clinic at Halmstad hospital from 1982 until 2016 and was a member of the Tylösand convention organizing committee in the early days. He has also been a mentor for EAO and supervisor at the department of Periodontology at the Faculty of Odontology at Malmö University. Lars-Åke’s research has focused on bone regenerative procedures and follow-ups on young patients with implants. He defended his thesis ”On minimally invasive approaches to sinus lift procedures” in 2012 and has published more than 25 scientific  papers. During the years he has frequently given lectures within the field of implantology, both nationally and internationally. The humility, curiosity and genuine commitment in his work, patients and colleagues has been characteristic through-out his long career.